Comparison · checked 2 November 2026

Cronitor vs Healthchecks.io

Healthchecks.io monitors 20 cron jobs free, and its $5 Supporter plan has the same limits; it is open source and can be self-hosted. Cronitor’s free Hacker plan covers 5 monitors; its Business plan costs $2 per monitor plus $5 per user a month and adds uptime checks every 30 seconds from up to 12 regions.

Which one suits you

Choose Cronitor if

  • You want cron jobs and website uptime in one tool
  • You want SMS alerts on Business
  • You pay per monitor and per user

Cronitor’s website

Choose Healthchecks.io if

  • You only need cron job monitoring
  • You want 20 jobs free
  • You may want to self-host (BSD license)

Healthchecks.io’s website

Cronitor vs Healthchecks.io, side by side

Free plans, prices, check intervals and features, each from the provider’s own pages and linked to its source. Uptimecheck is in the last column as a third option.

Cronitor vs Healthchecks.io and Uptimecheck compared
Compared Cronitor Healthchecks.io Uptimecheck
Free plan Yes (Hacker): 5 monitors, email and Slack alerts, basic status page source for Cronitor Yes (Hobbyist): 20 jobs source for Healthchecks.io Yes: 5 monitors every 5 minutes, 1 status page; commercial use allowed more for Uptimecheck
Cheapest paid plan Business: $2 a month per monitor plus $5 a month per user source for Cronitor Supporter: $5 a month, the same limits as Hobbyist source for Healthchecks.io Start: €9 a month billed yearly, or €12 monthly, excl. VAT more for Uptimecheck
Shortest check interval 30 seconds source for Cronitor Not stated 1 minute on every paid plan more for Uptimecheck
Check locations Up to 12 regions source for Cronitor Not stated 3: Stockholm, London and New York more for Uptimecheck
Failures confirmed from another location Yes source for Cronitor Not stated Yes, before any incident opens more for Uptimecheck
Status pages 1 on Hacker and Business; branded pages extra source for Cronitor Not stated Every plan (1 on Free), with subscribers; no custom domain more for Uptimecheck
SMS alerts On Business, not on Hacker source for Cronitor Credits on its Business plans source for Healthchecks.io Paid plans: 50 or 200 credits a month on Professional and Business, packs on any paid plan more for Uptimecheck
Phone call alerts Not stated Credits on its Business plans source for Healthchecks.io No
Cron job and heartbeat monitoring Yes, its core product source for Cronitor Yes, its only product source for Healthchecks.io Yes, with start and finish pings and exit codes more for Uptimecheck
SSL and domain expiry SSL: yes source for Cronitor Not stated Yes, both more for Uptimecheck
Multi-step and browser checks Yes source for Cronitor Not stated Yes, multi-step flows, also in a real browser (paid plans) more for Uptimecheck
Open source or self-hosted Not stated Open source (BSD), can be self-hosted source for Healthchecks.io No, hosted only
Company and data location Not stated Riga, Latvia source for Healthchecks.io Digitona AB, Sweden; app and data in Stockholm more for Uptimecheck

Competitor facts are taken from each provider’s own website and were checked on 2 November 2026. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on their site, not that it’s missing. Plans change: check the source before you decide.

A third option: Uptimecheck

We make Uptimecheck, so take this part as ours. It checks websites, APIs, ports and ping targets every minute on paid plans from Stockholm, London and New York, confirms every failure from another location, and shows the evidence on each incident: the failing response, a screenshot or a traceroute.

Status pages, cron jobs, SSL and domain expiry and on-call schedules are included on every plan, not sold as add-ons. The free plan has 5 monitors with no end date, paid plans start at €9 a month billed yearly, and the app and data are hosted in Stockholm. See pricing or how to switch.

14-day free trial · Then free on 5 monitors · No credit card

Questions

Do Cronitor and Healthchecks.io have a free plan?

Cronitor: Yes (Hacker): 5 monitors, email and Slack alerts, basic status page. Healthchecks.io: Yes (Hobbyist): 20 jobs.

Which is cheaper, Cronitor or Healthchecks.io?

Cronitor: Business: $2 a month per monitor plus $5 a month per user. Healthchecks.io: Supporter: $5 a month, the same limits as Hobbyist. Prices are as each provider shows them, so currencies and VAT can differ.

Which checks more often, Cronitor or Healthchecks.io?

Cronitor: 30 seconds. Healthchecks.io: not stated on its website.

Do Cronitor and Healthchecks.io include status pages?

Cronitor: 1 on Hacker and Business; branded pages extra. Healthchecks.io: not stated on its website.

Is there an alternative to Cronitor and Healthchecks.io?

Uptimecheck is one, made in Sweden. Free plan: 5 monitors every 5 minutes, 1 status page; commercial use allowed. Paid: Start: €9 a month billed yearly, or €12 monthly, excl. VAT, with checks every minute from Stockholm, London and New York, every failure confirmed from another location, status pages, cron jobs and alerts in Slack, Teams, email or push. It imports monitors from UptimeRobot, Better Stack, Pingdom and StatusCake.

Where do these facts come from?

From each provider’s own website, checked on 2 November 2026, with every fact linked to its source in the table. Uptimecheck makes one of the products compared here, so check the sources before you decide.

Downtime is obsolete.

Set up your first monitor in under a minute, or look around the live demo first.

14-day free trial · Then free on 5 monitors · No credit card