Comparison · checked 2 November 2026
Pingdom vs StatusCake
StatusCake has a free plan with 10 uptime monitors every 5 minutes; Pingdom has only a free trial. Pingdom’s smallest plan includes 10 uptime checks, 1 transaction check and 50 SMS; StatusCake’s paid plans add 1-minute or 30-second checks, SMS credits and server monitors.
Which one suits you
Choose Pingdom if
- You need transaction checks
- You want a large check network (100+ servers)
- You want public status pages included
Choose StatusCake if
- You want to start free
- You want page speed, domain and SSL monitors too
- You want 30-second checks on its Business plan
Pingdom vs StatusCake, side by side
Free plans, prices, check intervals and features, each from the provider’s own pages and linked to its source. Uptimecheck is in the last column as a third option.
| Compared | Pingdom | StatusCake | Uptimecheck |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | No, a free trial source for Pingdom | Yes: 10 uptime monitors every 5 minutes, 1 page speed, 1 domain and 1 SSL monitor source for StatusCake | Yes: 5 monitors every 5 minutes, 1 status page; commercial use allowed more for Uptimecheck |
| Cheapest paid plan | 16 a month, or 14.33 a month billed yearly, for 10 uptime checks, 1 advanced check and 50 SMS (currency by region; we saw euros) source for Pingdom | Superior, priced in your local currency source for StatusCake | Start: €9 a month billed yearly, or €12 monthly, excl. VAT more for Uptimecheck |
| Shortest check interval | Not stated | 1 minute on Superior, 30 seconds on Business source for StatusCake | 1 minute on every paid plan more for Uptimecheck |
| Check locations | 100+ servers worldwide source for Pingdom | Choose locations on paid plans source for StatusCake | 3: Stockholm, London and New York more for Uptimecheck |
| Failures confirmed from another location | Yes source for Pingdom | Not stated | Yes, before any incident opens more for Uptimecheck |
| Status pages | Public status pages on every plan source for Pingdom | Not stated | Every plan (1 on Free), with subscribers; no custom domain more for Uptimecheck |
| SMS alerts | An SMS quota per plan (50 on the smallest) source for Pingdom | Credits: 75 on Superior, 400 on Business, none on Free source for StatusCake | Paid plans: 50 or 200 credits a month on Professional and Business, packs on any paid plan more for Uptimecheck |
| SSL and domain expiry | Not stated | Yes source for StatusCake | Yes, both more for Uptimecheck |
| Multi-step and browser checks | Yes, transaction checks source for Pingdom | Not stated | Yes, multi-step flows, also in a real browser (paid plans) more for Uptimecheck |
| Server monitoring | Not stated | Yes on paid plans (3 on Superior) source for StatusCake | Yes, an agent for Linux, macOS and Windows (paid plans) more for Uptimecheck |
| Public API | Yes source for Pingdom | Not stated | REST API and MCP server on Professional and Business more for Uptimecheck |
| Company and data location | Part of SolarWinds source for Pingdom | Not stated | Digitona AB, Sweden; app and data in Stockholm more for Uptimecheck |
Competitor facts are taken from each provider’s own website and were checked on 2 November 2026. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on their site, not that it’s missing. Plans change: check the source before you decide.
A third option: Uptimecheck
We make Uptimecheck, so take this part as ours. It checks websites, APIs, ports and ping targets every minute on paid plans from Stockholm, London and New York, confirms every failure from another location, and shows the evidence on each incident: the failing response, a screenshot or a traceroute.
Status pages, cron jobs, SSL and domain expiry and on-call schedules are included on every plan, not sold as add-ons. The free plan has 5 monitors with no end date, paid plans start at €9 a month billed yearly, and the app and data are hosted in Stockholm. See pricing or how to switch.
14-day free trial · Then free on 5 monitors · No credit card
Questions
Do Pingdom and StatusCake have a free plan?
Pingdom: No, a free trial. StatusCake: Yes: 10 uptime monitors every 5 minutes, 1 page speed, 1 domain and 1 SSL monitor.
Which is cheaper, Pingdom or StatusCake?
Pingdom: 16 a month, or 14.33 a month billed yearly, for 10 uptime checks, 1 advanced check and 50 SMS (currency by region; we saw euros). StatusCake: Superior, priced in your local currency. Prices are as each provider shows them, so currencies and VAT can differ.
Which checks more often, Pingdom or StatusCake?
Pingdom: not stated on its website. StatusCake: 1 minute on Superior, 30 seconds on Business.
Do Pingdom and StatusCake include status pages?
Pingdom: Public status pages on every plan. StatusCake: not stated on its website.
Is there an alternative to Pingdom and StatusCake?
Uptimecheck is one, made in Sweden. Free plan: 5 monitors every 5 minutes, 1 status page; commercial use allowed. Paid: Start: €9 a month billed yearly, or €12 monthly, excl. VAT, with checks every minute from Stockholm, London and New York, every failure confirmed from another location, status pages, cron jobs and alerts in Slack, Teams, email or push. It imports monitors from UptimeRobot, Better Stack, Pingdom and StatusCake.
Where do these facts come from?
From each provider’s own website, checked on 2 November 2026, with every fact linked to its source in the table. Uptimecheck makes one of the products compared here, so check the sources before you decide.
Downtime is obsolete.
Set up your first monitor in under a minute, or look around the live demo first.
14-day free trial · Then free on 5 monitors · No credit card