Comparison · checked 2 November 2026
UptimeRobot vs Pingdom
UptimeRobot has a free plan with 50 monitors and paid plans from €9 a month; Pingdom has no free plan, and its smallest plan with 10 uptime checks costs about 14 to 16 a month. Pingdom checks from 100+ servers and includes transaction checks; UptimeRobot includes heartbeats and status pages with your own domain from Solo.
Which one suits you
Choose UptimeRobot if
- You want a free plan for many monitors (50, every 5 minutes)
- You want heartbeat, SSL and domain monitoring in one plan
- You need SMS or phone calls only now and then, paid with credits
Choose Pingdom if
- You need transaction checks of logins and checkouts
- You want checks from a large network of 100+ servers
- Your company already buys from SolarWinds
UptimeRobot vs Pingdom, side by side
Free plans, prices, check intervals and features, each from the provider’s own pages and linked to its source. Uptimecheck is in the last column as a third option.
| Compared | UptimeRobot | Pingdom | Uptimecheck |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: 50 monitors every 5 minutes, “for personal and commercial projects” source for UptimeRobot | No, a free trial source for Pingdom | Yes: 5 monitors every 5 minutes, 1 status page; commercial use allowed more for Uptimecheck |
| Cheapest paid plan | Solo: €9 a month billed yearly, or €10 monthly (10 monitors) source for UptimeRobot | 16 a month, or 14.33 a month billed yearly, for 10 uptime checks, 1 advanced check and 50 SMS (currency by region; we saw euros) source for Pingdom | Start: €9 a month billed yearly, or €12 monthly, excl. VAT more for Uptimecheck |
| Shortest check interval | 60 seconds on Solo, 15 seconds on its largest plan source for UptimeRobot | Not stated | 1 minute on every paid plan more for Uptimecheck |
| Check locations | North America, Europe, Asia and Australia source for UptimeRobot | 100+ servers worldwide source for Pingdom | 3: Stockholm, London and New York more for Uptimecheck |
| Failures confirmed from another location | Yes source for UptimeRobot | Yes source for Pingdom | Yes, before any incident opens more for Uptimecheck |
| Status pages | Basic on Free; 3 with your own domain from Solo source for UptimeRobot | Public status pages on every plan source for Pingdom | Every plan (1 on Free), with subscribers; no custom domain more for Uptimecheck |
| SMS alerts | With credits, none on Free source for UptimeRobot | An SMS quota per plan (50 on the smallest) source for Pingdom | Paid plans: 50 or 200 credits a month on Professional and Business, packs on any paid plan more for Uptimecheck |
| Phone call alerts | With credits source for UptimeRobot | Not stated | No |
| Cron job and heartbeat monitoring | Yes source for UptimeRobot | Not stated | Yes, with start and finish pings and exit codes more for Uptimecheck |
| SSL and domain expiry | Yes source for UptimeRobot | Not stated | Yes, both more for Uptimecheck |
| Multi-step and browser checks | Not stated | Yes, transaction checks source for Pingdom | Yes, multi-step flows, also in a real browser (paid plans) more for Uptimecheck |
| Public API | REST API on every plan source for UptimeRobot | Yes source for Pingdom | REST API and MCP server on Professional and Business more for Uptimecheck |
| Company and data location | Not stated | Part of SolarWinds source for Pingdom | Digitona AB, Sweden; app and data in Stockholm more for Uptimecheck |
Competitor facts are taken from each provider’s own website and were checked on 2 November 2026. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on their site, not that it’s missing. Plans change: check the source before you decide.
A third option: Uptimecheck
We make Uptimecheck, so take this part as ours. It checks websites, APIs, ports and ping targets every minute on paid plans from Stockholm, London and New York, confirms every failure from another location, and shows the evidence on each incident: the failing response, a screenshot or a traceroute.
Status pages, cron jobs, SSL and domain expiry and on-call schedules are included on every plan, not sold as add-ons. The free plan has 5 monitors with no end date, paid plans start at €9 a month billed yearly, and the app and data are hosted in Stockholm. See pricing or how to switch.
14-day free trial · Then free on 5 monitors · No credit card
Questions
Do UptimeRobot and Pingdom have a free plan?
UptimeRobot: Yes: 50 monitors every 5 minutes, “for personal and commercial projects”. Pingdom: No, a free trial.
Which is cheaper, UptimeRobot or Pingdom?
UptimeRobot: Solo: €9 a month billed yearly, or €10 monthly (10 monitors). Pingdom: 16 a month, or 14.33 a month billed yearly, for 10 uptime checks, 1 advanced check and 50 SMS (currency by region; we saw euros). Prices are as each provider shows them, so currencies and VAT can differ.
Which checks more often, UptimeRobot or Pingdom?
UptimeRobot: 60 seconds on Solo, 15 seconds on its largest plan. Pingdom: not stated on its website.
Do UptimeRobot and Pingdom include status pages?
UptimeRobot: Basic on Free; 3 with your own domain from Solo. Pingdom: Public status pages on every plan.
Is there an alternative to UptimeRobot and Pingdom?
Uptimecheck is one, made in Sweden. Free plan: 5 monitors every 5 minutes, 1 status page; commercial use allowed. Paid: Start: €9 a month billed yearly, or €12 monthly, excl. VAT, with checks every minute from Stockholm, London and New York, every failure confirmed from another location, status pages, cron jobs and alerts in Slack, Teams, email or push. It imports monitors from UptimeRobot, Better Stack, Pingdom and StatusCake.
Where do these facts come from?
From each provider’s own website, checked on 2 November 2026, with every fact linked to its source in the table. Uptimecheck makes one of the products compared here, so check the sources before you decide.
Downtime is obsolete.
Set up your first monitor in under a minute, or look around the live demo first.
14-day free trial · Then free on 5 monitors · No credit card