Comparison · checked 2 November 2026
UptimeRobot vs Better Stack
UptimeRobot’s free plan covers 50 monitors every 5 minutes, Better Stack’s covers 10 monitors and heartbeats with one status page. UptimeRobot sells fixed plans from €9 a month; Better Stack builds a price from add-ons, with unlimited SMS and phone calls once you buy a responder license.
Which one suits you
Choose UptimeRobot if
- You want the larger free plan
- You prefer one fixed price per plan
- Checks every 60 seconds (or 15 on its largest plan) are enough
Choose Better Stack if
- You want unlimited phone call and SMS alerts on a responder license
- You also use Better Stack for logs or incident management
- You want Playwright browser checks
UptimeRobot vs Better Stack, side by side
Free plans, prices, check intervals and features, each from the provider’s own pages and linked to its source. Uptimecheck is in the last column as a third option.
| Compared | UptimeRobot | Better Stack | Uptimecheck |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free plan | Yes: 50 monitors every 5 minutes, “for personal and commercial projects” source for UptimeRobot | Yes: 10 monitors and heartbeats, 1 status page, Slack and email alerts source for Better Stack | Yes: 5 monitors every 5 minutes, 1 status page; commercial use allowed more for Uptimecheck |
| Cheapest paid plan | Solo: €9 a month billed yearly, or €10 monthly (10 monitors) source for UptimeRobot | Built from add-ons: a responder license from $29 a month billed yearly ($34 monthly), 50 more monitors $21 a month billed yearly ($25 monthly) source for Better Stack | Start: €9 a month billed yearly, or €12 monthly, excl. VAT more for Uptimecheck |
| Shortest check interval | 60 seconds on Solo, 15 seconds on its largest plan source for UptimeRobot | Up to 30 seconds source for Better Stack | 1 minute on every paid plan more for Uptimecheck |
| Check locations | North America, Europe, Asia and Australia source for UptimeRobot | Asia, Australia, Europe and the US source for Better Stack | 3: Stockholm, London and New York more for Uptimecheck |
| Failures confirmed from another location | Yes source for UptimeRobot | Not stated | Yes, before any incident opens more for Uptimecheck |
| Status pages | Basic on Free; 3 with your own domain from Solo source for UptimeRobot | 1 on Free; more and custom domains as add-ons source for Better Stack | Every plan (1 on Free), with subscribers; no custom domain more for Uptimecheck |
| SMS alerts | With credits, none on Free source for UptimeRobot | Unlimited with a responder license, not on Free source for Better Stack | Paid plans: 50 or 200 credits a month on Professional and Business, packs on any paid plan more for Uptimecheck |
| Phone call alerts | With credits source for UptimeRobot | Unlimited with a responder license, not on Free source for Better Stack | No |
| Cron job and heartbeat monitoring | Yes source for UptimeRobot | Yes source for Better Stack | Yes, with start and finish pings and exit codes more for Uptimecheck |
| SSL and domain expiry | Yes source for UptimeRobot | Yes source for Better Stack | Yes, both more for Uptimecheck |
| Multi-step and browser checks | Not stated | Yes, Playwright checks, billed per minute source for Better Stack | Yes, multi-step flows, also in a real browser (paid plans) more for Uptimecheck |
| Public API | REST API on every plan source for UptimeRobot | Yes source for Better Stack | REST API and MCP server on Professional and Business more for Uptimecheck |
Competitor facts are taken from each provider’s own website and were checked on 2 November 2026. “Not stated” means we couldn’t find it on their site, not that it’s missing. Plans change: check the source before you decide.
A third option: Uptimecheck
We make Uptimecheck, so take this part as ours. It checks websites, APIs, ports and ping targets every minute on paid plans from Stockholm, London and New York, confirms every failure from another location, and shows the evidence on each incident: the failing response, a screenshot or a traceroute.
Status pages, cron jobs, SSL and domain expiry and on-call schedules are included on every plan, not sold as add-ons. The free plan has 5 monitors with no end date, paid plans start at €9 a month billed yearly, and the app and data are hosted in Stockholm. See pricing or how to switch.
14-day free trial · Then free on 5 monitors · No credit card
Questions
Do UptimeRobot and Better Stack have a free plan?
UptimeRobot: Yes: 50 monitors every 5 minutes, “for personal and commercial projects”. Better Stack: Yes: 10 monitors and heartbeats, 1 status page, Slack and email alerts.
Which is cheaper, UptimeRobot or Better Stack?
UptimeRobot: Solo: €9 a month billed yearly, or €10 monthly (10 monitors). Better Stack: Built from add-ons: a responder license from $29 a month billed yearly ($34 monthly), 50 more monitors $21 a month billed yearly ($25 monthly). Prices are as each provider shows them, so currencies and VAT can differ.
Which checks more often, UptimeRobot or Better Stack?
UptimeRobot: 60 seconds on Solo, 15 seconds on its largest plan. Better Stack: Up to 30 seconds.
Do UptimeRobot and Better Stack include status pages?
UptimeRobot: Basic on Free; 3 with your own domain from Solo. Better Stack: 1 on Free; more and custom domains as add-ons.
Is there an alternative to UptimeRobot and Better Stack?
Uptimecheck is one, made in Sweden. Free plan: 5 monitors every 5 minutes, 1 status page; commercial use allowed. Paid: Start: €9 a month billed yearly, or €12 monthly, excl. VAT, with checks every minute from Stockholm, London and New York, every failure confirmed from another location, status pages, cron jobs and alerts in Slack, Teams, email or push. It imports monitors from UptimeRobot, Better Stack, Pingdom and StatusCake.
Where do these facts come from?
From each provider’s own website, checked on 2 November 2026, with every fact linked to its source in the table. Uptimecheck makes one of the products compared here, so check the sources before you decide.
Downtime is obsolete.
Set up your first monitor in under a minute, or look around the live demo first.
14-day free trial · Then free on 5 monitors · No credit card